The final round of the Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship presented by Motul Pirelli (ASBK), sees itself at presents Round 7 Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit. With rain on and off on the Sunday it was certainly going to be a thrilling battle for the Championship.  Race 1 saw Josh Waters placing one hand on the trophy with a dominant win over Wayne Maxwell. Meanwhile defending champion and series leader,Troy Herfoss had to retire with a fluid leaking issue and had to return to the pits and in turn severely damaging any championship dreams with no points scored in Race 1.

With Race 2 ready to go, all eyes were on Josh Waters as he had his sights set on the championship. It was a thrilling battle in Race 2. By Lap 3 Wayne Maxwell on his Yamaha Racing Team, YZF-R1 had taken the lead and was on fire with Josh Waters slowly dropping from 2nd to 5th, it was enough to bag the championship and not take any risks. Meanwhile the battle of 2nd and third was between the Crankt Protein Honda Racing Team, Honda CBR1000SP2’s of Wayne Maxwell and Troy Herfoss.

For Josh Waters, this is his 3rd ASBK Title, and all  championships won on a Suzuki GSX-R1000.  ‘Til 2018 and we do it all again. Stay tuned and enjoy the pics.