Here we are at Winton for the Kawasaki Australian Superbikes, Round 5 of the  Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship. Carrying on from round 4 Desmosport Ducati rider Mike Jones comes to Winton with a 1 point lead in the championship.With a mixed bag of weather on the Friday. Only the brave went out as massive downpours were on order for the day. And it was Suzuki rider Wayne Maxwell that rose to the challenge on the Team Suzuki Ecstar GSXR1000R. posting a 1:121.499 in the second session. Sessions One and two were rained out.

With Saturdays weather a lot better than the Friday, it was a day to remember for qualifying. Desmosport Ducati and Mike Jones blasted around the Winton circuit, which ended up breaking the lap record! A mental 1:19.994!! That cementing him and his team as the fastest ever lap of Winton for a Superbike.Wayne Maxwell in his Suzuki managed to secure second on the grid for the main race. While Cru Halliday will also sit on the front row in third aboard his Yamaha Racing Team, Yamaha YZF-R1.

“Waynes World” Was the perfect way to describe the weekend for the Suzuki rider. Taking out Both wins aboard his Team Suzuki Ecstar GSXR1000R. After a ding dong battle with Desmosport Ducati rider Mike Jones, but it was Wayne Maxwell that prevailed in both races to take the win.In race one the race lead changed a few times as both riders battling it out which was great to watch for everyone as the riders put on a great show. But it was the Suzuki rider that managed to settle and take the win in the end as the top two riders were in a battle by themselves while in third, Troy Herfoss aboard his Penrite Honda Racing, Honda CBR RR SP finished a brilliant third as he fought from twelfth on the grid to third!

Race two was shortened due to two separate accidents at turn 2. So in the end stewards had decided to shorten the race. Again it was a literally a replay of race one. Both Maxwell and Jones continuing their race 1 tussle from where they left off with Herfoss in third as well. Lap 5 saw the race red flagged due to a sudden downpour on the track. Only half points were awarded for the race due to the number of laps completed. Which in turn handed the overall win to Maxwell. But it’s Jones who hold the lead in the championship, extending his lead to 11.5 points now instead of 1 with only 2 rounds remaining. Next round will be at Phillip Island October 4-6.

Points after Round 5

  1. Mike Jones – 217.5
  2. Cru Halliday – 206
  3. Bryan Staring – 198.5
  4. Troy Herfoss – 196
  5. Wayne Maxwell – 193
  6. Josh Waters – 181
  7. Matt Walters – 130.5
  8. Daniel Falzon – 124
  9. Alex Phillis – 110
  10. Arthur Sissis – 106.5


Enjoy the Pics