A brand new lap record was the talking point from this years Aus Time Attack. Brad Shields steered his Xtreme GT-R R32 Nissan in the second last session of Saturday’s competition setting a time of 0:57.5652 claiming the overall win along with the fastest all wheel drive car.

Held at Wakefield Park Raceway, two and a half hours south of Sydney, the short 2.2km is one for the drivers and achieving the perfect lap takes some bravery. Saturday saw a very cold start to the morning, but a spotless sky helped heat up the track. This year saw a bumper 55 entries with a brand new supercar class, seeing some of the fastest road legal supercars take part in a race against the clock.

Benny Tran claimed second outright in his Pro Class BYP Honda Integra setting a time of  0:57.9578.

Third place overall was Trent Grubel in the Pulse Racing Mitsubishi Evo VIII, which made its first appearance at Wakefield Park since 2014. Grubel clocked the car’s fastest official time at the track, a 0:58.0287.

The hotly contested Club Sprint class for lightly modified production based cars had a nail biting finish between Time Attack veteran Nik Spartan Kalis took the win in his Mitsubishi Evo X with a 1:02.8953, just 0.1s faster than Jamal Asaad in his Evo VI. Impressive rookie Josh Bunter finished third in his Subaru WRX.

The brand new Supercar Class proved to be very competitive across the board. Kevin Westblade held the fastest time for the majority of the day in his Porsche 911 GT2 before Allan Bugh (PRB Clubman) in the second last session of the day, with Bugh sealing the class win with a 1:01.9717 in his last run.

Big thank you to all the officials and team members who helped run Aus Time Attack this year. Now the big build up to World Time Attack Challenge later this year.


Aus Time Attack Outright Champion­:Brad Shiels, Nissan R32 GT-R

Pro Class winner: Benny Tran, Honda Integra

Open Class winner:Brad Shiels, Nissan Skyline R32 GT-R

Open Class runner-up: Brian Bugh, Chevrolet Corvette

Open Class third place:Christopher Yee, Nissan Skyline R33 GTSt

Open Class best AWD:Brad Shiels, Nissan Skyline R32 GTR

Open Class best RWD: Brian Bugh, Chevrolet Corvette

Open Class best naturally-aspirated: Brian Bugh, Chevrolet Corvette

Club Sprint Class winner:Nik Kalis, Mitsubishi Evo X

Club Sprint Class runner-up:Jamal Asaad, Mitsubishi Evo VI

Club Sprint Class third place:Josh Bunter, Subaru WRX

Club Sprint best AWD:Nik Kalis, Mitsubishi Evo X

Club Sprint best RWD:Conor Falvey, Honda S2000

Club Sprint best FWD: Adrian Pazman, Honda Civic

Club Sprint best naturally-aspirated:Myles Jones

Club Sprint best rookie:Josh Bunte

Supercar Class winner:Allan Bugh, PRB Clubman

Supercar Class runner-up:Kevin Westblade, Porsche 911 GT2RS

Supercar Class third place:Anthony Le, Porsche 911 GT2RS